First International ICST Conference on Mobile Networks And Management


13-14 October, 2009

Athens, Greece

Welcome Message from the Technical Program Chairs

MONAMI 2009 is covering a range of topics in mobile networks and their management that are currently of high interest in the wireless research area. In particular multiaccess networks, along with the associated resource management issues, self organizing network management architectures, and service provisioning have emerged as core topics in the design, deployment and operation of current and future networks. After a thorough peer review process, eight submissions were selected based on their relevance to the scope of the conference workshop and their technical merit. These will be orally presented during the Athens conference sessions and are included as full papers in the MONAMI 2009 proceedings. Further, five short papers, reporting work in progress, will complement the program and are also included in the proceedings. All papers will be presented in a single-track format, which fosters active participation from the attendees.

We acknowledge the vital role that the Technical Program Committee members and referees played during the review process. Their efforts ensured that all submitted papers received a proper evaluation. In addition to the oral presentations of the selected papers, the conference program includes a keynote speech by Professor Antonio Puliafito on "Managing Heterogeneous Wireless Technologies: Objects Tracking and Services Development". The conference will open with a tutorial on "Mobility and Multiaccess in Emerging Internet Architectures" by Dr. Kostas Pentikousis. Finally, the conference program includes a panel session on "Energy Efficiency in Mobile Multiaccess Networks" moderated by Professor Symeon Papavasileiou.

We expect all these to trigger fruitful discussions making the conference a very active forum, which will foster future cooperation between the participants.

The Technical Program Co-Chairs

Oliver Blume
Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, Germany

Ramon Aguero
University of Cantabria, Spain

Symeon Papavasileiou
National Technical University of Athens, Greece